Hedge Guild Otherworld Oracle

(Nimue, review)

This is without a doubt my favourite oracle card set ever, and I’ve encountered a fair few over the years. It’s a collaboration between Jesse Wolf Hardin and Kiva Rose Hardin, and I was sent it to review. I’ve been pulling a card every day for some weeks, and I like it so much that I want to buy the handbook to replace my review pdf. I have physical cards.

The hedge is a liminal place. This set takes us into the marginal and magical, bringing in other than human influences, and inviting us out to the edges. There are sixty Hedge Guild Otherworld cards. They draw on folklore, archetypes and the personal insights of the creators. It’s a highly original set, and comes in three sections. The Guild are characters from the margins, they are guides and archetypes. There’s also flora and fauna. Commentary for each card includes all kinds of wider information – what the card signifies, what folklore it draws on, how you might encounter what’s represented, what questions to ask yourself and so forth.

There’s no judgement here – which is often an issue with cards. All kinds of feelings, energies and possibilities are considered, but not with any sense of them being good or bad, right or wrong. They are what they are and what you do with them is up to you. I like that a lot. Judgy cards can be really demoralising to work with and I don’t find them helpful.

Each card offers richness and wisdom. While you certainly could use them for divination, I found them to be excellent for contemplation. Every card offers food for thought, and wisdom to reflect on. Each card has the potential to take you on a journey towards enchantment and wonder. It’s a wonderfully well-written thing and an invitation to bring all kinds of magic into your life. Taking time to meditate on a card is a rewarding process, making this a good tool for anyone who needs something to work with in order to meditate effectively.

One of the issues with oracle cards is often who the user is assumed to be – especially what life stage you are expected to be at. I didn’t find that with this set. These cards are grounded and thoughtful, but also accessible and not requiring any prior knowledge, I think they could work well for anyone who fancied them. If you like your otherworldliness wild and tender, wise and playful then this is for you.  I wholeheartedly recommend checking them out.

Hedge Guild Otherworld Oracle Deck & Book – Sales Page
https://planthealerbookstore.com/hedgeoracle

2 thoughts on “Hedge Guild Otherworld Oracle

Add yours

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑