The magical violin

(Nimue)

A couple of weeks ago I wrote about finding I could play the violin again. I said that I’d need to manifest a violin, or the means to buy one. It wasn’t an idle thought, and I mentioned on Facebook that I was looking. Within half an hour a friend put up a hand to say he had an electric violin that had been sat in a box for ten years and did I want it? I’ve always fancied playing an electric, so I said yes, and then it took a couple of weeks to arrange to get it. My father very kindly funded it as my Christmas present.

I know a lot of musicians, the odds were always good that someone would have a violin they weren’t using. It’s an important point around magic and manifestation. Trying to nudge the universe for things it would be likely that you can have is more realistic than any kind of longshot. Making something manifest can also just mean asking for it in some really uncomplicated non-woo-woo ways and it’s always a good idea to start there. If there’s something real you can do to make something happen, do it, and do your magic alongside it.

Being able to play again feels miraculous to me. I had so many years when that wasn’t possible. There is magic tangled up in this – in the forms of the love and inspiration that got me to this point. I see both of these things as ways in which magic manifests in the world.

Once I get back up to speed with playing, the violin will also be a tool for magic. Music has a huge impact on mood, and you can shape a space with a tune. This is something the bards of old knew about, and there are stories of musical magic that could make people dance, or weep, laugh or sleep. It’s a wonderful thing to be able to make people dance, and in my busking days I was always delighted when my playing had that effect on a child.

I have no idea where this violin will take me or what new things it will bring into my life, but I’m excited to find out.

9 thoughts on “The magical violin

Add yours

  1. Brilliant! Utterly, utterly brilliant! Musical magic is delightful and powerful, and I’m over the moon that you can do it again. x

  2. This is a great turn up! Proud of you for overcoming all the hurdles to get back to playing. Also seems some healing has been done with your parents, ~ you’ve often posted in the past of your neglect during your childhood at their hands. Time does indeed heal, and everyone changes / mellows.

    1. You’ve been misinterpreting some things. My childhood was complicated, it included a number issues – being bullied at school was a significant factor. I had undiagnosed hypermobility that seriously impacted on how people related to me. That’s no one’s fault, it just caused some problems. I am probably neurodivergent although I remain undiagnosed and that’s made things tricky all round. There are things that have been passed down generationally that are problematic that I’ve never gone into in great detail about because that wouldn’t be fair on the people involved – including those who are no longer with us. My relationship with my parents has not changed significantly. The abuse history I sometimes allude to relates to my twenties, not my childhood. I hope that clears things up for you.

  3. Thanks.

    You’ve got me wrong – I didn’t mention abuse nor inferred it.

    If you are coming out as neurodivergent that that helps us all to understand some of the ways you communicate, which can come across as crass and insensitive at times, to be honest. This puts it into a different perspective, so thank you.

    1. Oh Dolly, you do have a very strange relationship with reality, don’t you? Ok, so neglect is a recognised form of abuse. Most of your problems with me stem from your habits of projecting your own issues onto my work and inferring things that fit with your rather peculiar ideas about who I am. I don’t think it matters what I write, you;ll keep doing that rather than anything healthier for you or more constructive.

      1. hi nimue

        I don’t project anything onto your work as I don’t follow it. 

        I only read here – if you regard this as work then that may be what you mean.

        All I was saying was that a lot of your posts are tone deaf by neurotypical standards but now that we know you are neurodivergent, allowances can and will be made for that. It’s a helpful revelation.

      2. Yes this is my work. Your whole attitude to neurodivergence is really problematic. The assumption that neurodivergent people have communication problems is utterly wrong on some counts – neurodivergence also covers ADHD and other forms of difference, it’s not another word for autism. Stereotypes around autism are harmful prejudices and not a fair reflection of all autistic people. We all communicate in different ways, and you need to focus more on your own issues around how you read tone and intent because you get things badly wrong that other people have no problem understanding.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑