Meditating on sound

Over recent weeks, I’ve been working with naturally occurring sound for meditation. It’s warm enough to have the window open, so I can lie on the bed and listen to the stream or to the bird song. Both create interesting challenges.

There’s no rhythm or logic to the songs of many birds overlapping. It’s not at all like listening to human music and so my mind, trained as it is and predisposed also, doesn’t actually handle it as well as it would more predictable sounds. The stream is similar – what sounds like a constant babble turns out, on deeper contemplation, to be a stream of sound that my brain cannot quite predict or settle into. As a consequence I find my attention drifts and I have to consciously haul myself back to paying attention.

Contemplative listening of course cannot tune out the sounds of cars, dogs, people, and other perhaps less-attractive noises that make up my sound environment. All of these come unexpectedly. The sound around me does not permit a smooth state of mind, I cannot drift off with it, I have to be an active participant and maintain my attention deliberately.

It is also possible to go the other way, treating stream and song as background noise, hearing not the details but the flow, and I find if I do that, I drift away from the sound, and soon I’m not really hearing any of it and the thoughts in my head quietly take over. It can be a good way of getting to sleep, but it doesn’t give me active engagement.

So, I’m working on being present to my soundscape – not trying to empty my thoughts, but trying to be as fully aware of and interested in the ongoing sounds around me as I can be. I’m finding it a really interesting practice.

2 thoughts on “Meditating on sound

Add yours

  1. I’m fascinated by sound….I’m very aware that we hear such a fragment of the sounds that are generated around us because of the limitations of our human sense of hearing. The sound of the Big Bang itself is still detectable ever so quietly. This BBC series was a real eye-opener (or should that be ear-opener!) for me; you’ll have to be quick though, part one has already gone from the iPlayer and part two will disappear on Wed ….

    Sound Waves: The Symphony of Physics, Series 1: 2. Using Sound: http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b08h9ctd via @bbciplayer

    Part of my druidic awareness is tuning in to those sounds and wavelengths of energy that are all around us….John /l\

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑