Poem – By their fruits

By their fruits

 

My tribe are the hidden ones

The underground breakers down

Of last season’s discard.

The nitrogen magicians

Enabling life in many forms.

Orchid to oak

We are soil-lace

Encouraging leaf and flower.

See me briefly

Let me intrude a fruiting body

Into airy upper realms

Shiny red cap, rare green,

Spotted fairy fly agaric

Generously capped wands

To weave enchantment

Nourish or poison.

A moment of glory.

My true work is underground

In the roots and beginnings

In decay and endings

In secret.

Earth dreaming.

8 thoughts on “Poem – By their fruits

Add yours

  1. Yes! this makes me think of how much a dry objective scientific worldview dominates and how much my mind does not work like this (and for many others), so I would understand science if it was transmutated into poetic imagination which you doing here (and which is necessary for the future, the marriage of poetry and science, objective and subjective, no split, no favouring one view as realer than the other)

    1. Yes! I would cheerfully accept that as a mission, thank you. Also sorry it was slow showing up, I have to approve first time comments, and I have only just got to my email.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑