Orchid season

(Nimue)

This is an early purple orchid, and they show up on the commons around Stroud at this time of year. These are the first wild orchids to bloom locally. Next will come the pyramidal orchids, then lady orchids, marsh orchids and spotted orchids. This last trio I’m not confident on identifying. One year I went out with a wildflower book and still couldn’t figure it out. Rumour has it that they hybridise.

Later in the year, the bee orchids will appear – these are my absolute favourites.

I’m in a process at the moment of thinking a lot about the seasonal names I use, and wanting to move away from Irish terms that relate neither to my heritage nor my landscape.

The photo is mine. For the first time in many years I own a device that I can take photos with. However, it’s a tablet and not fantastic as a camera. So much better than no camera, though!

11 thoughts on “Orchid season

Add yours

  1. Beautiful. I don’t think we see orchids growing wild where we live, but I do like to see photos of them from elsewhere.

  2. We have a variety of wild orchids here as well. I have no idea what they’re called! 🙂 I know the common names of many of our other wildflowers, whose pretty faces are all presenting themselves now: shooting star, five-spot, camas lily, violet, wild iris and many more. . . high spring is a beautiful, fecund time of year!

  3. I an experience tonight walking home.. remember when i reached out to you and asked in a spell check way for help. But had a umversal answer. Then on the way thanked by the moon got hot bacl back to reality lost my phone
    Point is im walking along and felt this wash of love and i realised i was in the exact place where i d reached out and asked for help to get my xl bully dog lucy back. Its a cross road.s modern yes but there 3 crosspoint s there
    I had an experience the 1 s t night on 2 points
    Tonight everything went gopden bit i could sense i was being seen. I often forget about the other realm. I was carry a cooked dinner so i shared it. Now i ve jisr realised its my birthday more than that it s may 1st
    . Beltane thinning of the veil so pleased they saw me.

    .

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑