Where the inspiration takes me

(Nimue)

One of the things I’ve learned in the last year or so is that I’m much happier when I have multiple projects on the go at the same time and when those projects are at different stages. This is an update about what I’ve got going on at the moment.

On the non-fiction side, I’m writing a book about Spirits of Place. I’m doing a chapter a month and this is available to read on Patreon as I go along. At this rate it will take me a year to get the first draft, and then I will decide how best to get it out into the world.

Also on Patreon, I’m sharing a hope-punk novel in progress. It also has some steampunk elements (well, it has a steam engine and a lot of humour.) Again I’m doing about a chapter a month, although I’m trying to get ahead of that with the writing part. Writing non-fic works fine undertaken in sporadic chunks, fiction not so much, but I’m getting away with it. 

I’ve been working on someone else’s project in recent weeks and I hope to be able to talk about that more, soon. It’s a book in translation where the English language aspect needs working on for clarity and coherence. This is very much a steampunk project, and more action oriented than my own stuff tends to be,

I have a novel I started some fifteen years ago and only managed to finish this autumn! I need to do a second draft of that, but I’m hoping to bring it out in February. I will be self publishing that, and free ebooks will be available in my ko-fi store. This is very much tied up with how I use Patreon. Support there makes it feasible for me to keep writing books and making some of them freely available. Ko-fi donations also help with this, as do people who are able to pay for ebooks. I’m a big fan of gift economy and trusting people to do what works for them.

I’m going to be looking at how to get existing Hopeless, Maine novellas out into the world, and I am in conversations with people about how to take that project forward.

I’m also brewing a folk horror novel. This is very early days, and I’m currently reading academic material about the genre – not least because I have a friend who has written a quantity of academic material about the genre! I’ve got a village to design and a vague sense of the key issues and some of the characters. I like to get my set-up figured out before I start and leave myself some room to explore the plot as I go along. I’ll be talking about this as I go because the genre itself has issues that I want to challenge in how I approach the story.

2 thoughts on “Where the inspiration takes me

Add yours

  1. sometimes things can get strange. Horror in folk tales…uumh. appeareth in my song book.. “The Ladye’s Coach”. You may know it then plse skip.

    My Ladye hath a sable coach, And horses two and four. My Ladye hath a gaunt blood-hound. That runneth on before. My Lauye’s Coach hath nodding plumes, The driver hath no head, My Ladye is an ashen white, As one that long is dead . 2 Now pray step in! my Layde saith, Now pray step in and ride. 1 thank thee I had rather walk, Than gather to thy side. The wheels go round without a sound Of tramp or turn of wheels. As cloud at night, in pale moonlight. Along the carriage steals. 3 Now pray step in! my Ladye saith, Now prithee come to me. She takes the baby from the crib, She sets it on her knee; The wheels go round, Sec: 4 Now pray step in! my Ladye saith, Now pray step in and ride. Then deadly pale, in waving veil, She takes to her the bride; The wheels go round, &c: 5 Now pray step in! my Ladye saith, There’s room 1 wot for you. She wav’d her hand, the coach did stand, The Squire within she drew. The wheels go round Sec: 6 Now pray step in! my Ladye saith, Why should’st thou trudge afoot? She took the gaffer in by her, His crutches in the boot. The wheels go round &c; 7 I’d rather walk a hundred miles And run by night and day Than have that carriage halt for me, And hear my Ladye say Now pray step in and make no din, Step in with me to ride; There’s room I trow, by me for you And all the world beside. Ah well. The Death Coach that catches us all.

    Blessings Becci

    “This text has been generated by a human. Or has it?”

    http://www.beccijane.co.uk

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑