Make Believe – Hexford book 1

(Nimue, review)

Just buy it.

Ok, proper review. I’ve loved all of Craig’s books so far, this might be my favourite. Hexford is a magical town in Yorkshire, a bit disconnected from the rest of reality. It is the sort of town you probably want to live in, because it’s full of magic, and the supernatural killing probably won’t put you off.

The book features witches, and folklore and spirits of place in ways that really, really worked for me. The writing is lush, the characters are endearing, and the tale that this sets off looks very appealing. Unsurprisingly (for anyone who knows Craig’s work) there are some decidedly gothic elements too.

This is a small book – I read it in the course of an afternoon, and it made me very happy. For me this was very much a comfort read, but it is likely (given everything I know about Craig) that the series as a whole will at least saunter along the edges of horror now and then. For now it feels fairly cosy (to me) but then I often find that in certain kinds of darker fiction.

If you’d like to live in the enchanted house, and you’d add your witch mark to the wall, knowing that a house with that much protection on it probably has to be protected from something pretty serious… this is for you.

It’s out at the end of the month, you can pre-order it from the publisher, or from you preferred bookseller. https://salpe-publishing.sumupstore.com/product/make-believe-hexford-book-one-pre-order

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑