Dear Three Thousand

As I write this, there are very slightly more than three thousand of you signed up to get this blog as an email. So first up, a big thank you to everyone who has supported me by deciding to come along on this madcap adventure. Some of you have been with me from the very early days and have stuck it out, and that means a great deal to me. Others of you I hope to get more familiar with through comments and so forth as we progress.

If you ever find I’ve not explored something in enough detail, if you think I’ve got it wrong, or haven’t gone far enough or missed an aspect, please, please comment. It really helps when people chip in to expand the conversation and share details I don’t have, and rare is the post that wouldn’t benefit from this (probably just the poems!)

I’d like to take this opportunity to remind you all that I do take guest blogs, I reblog, and I support Druid/Pagan projects, cool creative stuff and interesting authors. If you could use this platform, just leave a comment on a post or one of the pages and I’ll see it and email you. If I can help, I will.

I don’t and won’t ask for donations. I write this blog because it is something I can give, and I enjoy it and I think it helps achieve things I want to get done. And it’s way cheaper than therapy. If at any point you feel an urge to be supportive back, buy a book. I google really well, I have all kinds of books. But at the same time, one of the reasons I blog is that I know full well that not everyone can afford books, and if that’s you, please know that you are totally welcome to rock up here and take what’s offered and feel no guilt. I believe in gift economy, this blog is something I can put in the collective hat.

I had a great idea about hunting around online to find some exciting example of what a group of 3000 people have achieved in some context or another. Unfortunately all I found were articles where 3000 had been the death toll, and lots and lots of facebook hiring people. So there we go, there are no easy precedents to work with. Perhaps that means something!

Thank you for coming here, thank you for staying, thank you for everything you share. Onwards!

About Nimue Brown

Druid, author, dreamer, folk enthusiast, parent, wife to the most amazing artist -Tom Brown. Drinker of coffee, maker of puddings. Exploring life as a Pagan, seeking good and meaningful ways to be, struggling with mental health issues and worried about many things. View all posts by Nimue Brown

13 responses to “Dear Three Thousand

  • River Spirit Films (@greenflametree)

    Helm’s Deep was defended by a garrison of 2,000, whose numbers were swelled by Gandalf and about 1,000 men of Westfold under Erkenbrand, who marched through the night on their strong legs.

  • autumnbarlow

    Not quite 3000 but there are ads on our local buses at the moment reminding us of the Rochdale Pioneers – 28 men who started what was to become the Co-op.

    And this might appeal to you … 3000 people collectively writing a song. https://www.dailydot.com/debug/crowdsound-reddit-song/

  • Rick

    Dear Nimue: As always, thanks for keeping this blog going. It’s so valuable to those of us who follow it. As one theme potentially worth exploring, I’d love to see more discussion of the urgent need to preserve what’s European about Europe — both its tradition of liberal freedoms and values, and the cultural expressions of its pre-Christian, Pagan past. All of this is in growing danger of being lost to us.

    • Nimue Brown

      I’m not sure I know enough to tackle that, but if you want to raise it I’d be delighted to have a guest post from you.

    • Rick

      Unfortunately, the terms of my employment as a journalist wouldn’t permit me to write in detail on subjects that might touch on controversial points of the kind I would want to raise. Anyone else out there have a freer hand?

  • angharadlois

    If there are no easy precedents, it’s because you’re making something new 🙂
    This was an uplifting read, thank you for giving us something thoughtful and interesting to read each day!

  • lingib

    I enjoy reading your blog, I look forward to posts and have learnt a great deal. Very thought provoking, thank you.

  • Tracy Kruse

    Maybe a great 3000 participant group meditation for World Peace? Maybe we can set a time and participate. I don’t think it’s hard in documentaary evidence, and it’s likely been done before, but hands down might be wild to say that Druid to Pagan to anyone participating, we’ve got a hands down good day coming up for such a thing!
    And on a personal note, just fyi, this is the only blog I read regularly!

  • Nick Isabella

    You are a gentle spirit, and this is what we need in a world gone hatewire! Your writing is forthright and down to earth, you pull no punches and let everyone have it, including yourself. Most writers are afraid or to pious to do this. I thank you from my inner-self for all your introspections and advice to everyone. Keep writing!!!
    Nick

Leave a Reply

