Walking at first light

The sun hasn’t cleared the hill as I set out, so while it’s light, the cold from the previous night still hangs in the air. It’s startling cold given how bright the day looked before I headed out.

There’s a clear line across the fields. On the shadow side of the line, night lingers in the dew heavy grass, and it is so very cold. My path is also on the shadow side. I am under-dressed, and seriously consider going back. What keeps me moving is the line I walk in parallel with – because on the other side of that line is the land the sun has already reached. It shines with the gold of new light, and promise and all good things.

I don’t walk that far, and when I turn around to head for home, the sun has reached the larches and other tree tops, bathing them in colour. The air is warmer as I trot back. I see a small rabbit out in the field, hear a pheasant. Outside my door, two robins are engaged in a dance that could be about pair bonding, or territory. I’m not sure how to read it. They are untroubled by my approach.

Pagan Pilgrimage need not be about distance. It need not be away into some supposedly pristine environment.

About Nimue Brown

Druid, author, dreamer, folk enthusiast, parent, wife to the most amazing artist -Tom Brown. Drinker of coffee, maker of puddings. Exploring life as a Pagan, seeking good and meaningful ways to be, struggling with mental health issues and worried about many things. View all posts by Nimue Brown

6 responses to “Walking at first light

  • David

    Yesterday, we had a pagan pilgrimage through the Apple trees in full blossom for a handfasting. Barefoot under the ancient Sweet Chestnuts (ouch !!) Beautiful day.
    I always get something positive from your posts, thank you.
    Nearly blue-bell time, that’s my favourite pilgrimage.

  • Linda Davis

    Indeed! Beautiful description. I had to accept being a semi-urban Druid, sometimes not even being able to get out. It’s all about awareness, changing your perception.

  • Tracy Kruse

    Lovely!

  • John Davis

    Yes…there’s something special (magical) about walking at first light. I walk a mile or so most mornings taking in both the countryside and the seacliffs where I live on the North Sea coast. I never fail to be amazed at how the sun rises at a different point on the horizon as the year progresses…John /l\

Leave a Reply

