Colouring for poetry

One of the things about illustration work, is that the spark of inspiration tends to come from somewhere else. When I’ve got my colouring hat on, I’m several stages down the chain of inspiration. Writing inspires a black and white drawing, which Tom then passes to me, and I do my best to make colour-sense of. What I do is very much led by what’s already been done. On the plus side, this means I can often work on colouring when I’m feeling short of personal inspiration.

 

This is one of our more recent pieces – a cover for a poetry collection by Adam Horovitz.

Working on the convolvulus had me thinking that I could perhaps go back to drawing plants in detail – something I’ve not done since my late teens.

About Nimue Brown

Druid, author, dreamer, folk enthusiast, parent, wife to the most amazing artist -Tom Brown. Drinker of coffee, maker of puddings. Exploring life as a Pagan, seeking good and meaningful ways to be, struggling with mental health issues and worried about many things. View all posts by Nimue Brown

3 responses to “Colouring for poetry

  • Tracy Kruse

    This is wonderful and the entire work leaves me craving what will be with it in terms of poetry! I also color (but in a coloring book!) when I am sort of disconnected from my imaginal stirrings and find the meditative simplicity involved actually feels as though it is pulling me back into the Flow where perhaps I have stepped out to the shore to observe for a bit dealing with some 3D basic like scrubbing house. This however, is not so much like you on the shore, but maybe sitting on a big boulder in the softer eddying waters, one foot dangling in the Divine.

Leave a Reply

