Sharing your fire

  • In the current environment, being passionate feels risky. Many of us are keeping our heads down. It’s harder to be a passionate creative if you feel you’re surrounded by wary and measured people, or worse yet, cynical cold people.

When someone else shares their fire, the cold in my heart eases a bit. It doesn’t seem to matter what form it takes – overt creativity, the passion of activism, reading poetry, laughter that comes from the belly, affection that comes from the heart. I’ve never been the sort of person who could get by without other people. If I’m not in contact with other people’s inspiration, I wither away.

I can tackle this by picking good books to read, listening to great music, seeking out inspired films. I can book tickets for gigs and other live shows. I can actively seek other inspired people to help me keep my own small flame going. When I’m depressed, it’s harder to make the effort to do that, simply. I’m guessing it’s not just me, and that when we dare to share our passion, intensity and inspiration, we may all be able to lift each other a bit.

During the dark depths of last week, I had a flash of insight about how important it is to me to be in contact with other people’s inspiration, and the first small, creative piece of writing I’ve done in ages came into being as a consequence…

Show me your fire.

Show me the starstruck, moon crazed

Heart surging tsunami rush,

Deranged, intoxicated, transfixed.

Show me the wild honey

On your lips.

Show me the swan flight

In your dance, show me

Enchantments, woven with fingertips

And more than this,

Show me the consuming blaze of it

In your eyes, as though

A spark could leap the gap,

One igniting the other.

And awen bolt striking as lightning,

None to say which the source

And which the destination.

About Nimue Brown

Druid, author, dreamer, folk enthusiast, parent, wife to the most amazing artist -Tom Brown. Drinker of coffee, maker of puddings. Exploring life as a Pagan, seeking good and meaningful ways to be, struggling with mental health issues and worried about many things. View all posts by Nimue Brown

9 responses to “Sharing your fire

  • Christopher Blackwell

    Create your own fire. It need not be a large fire, a little fire will do nicely. Be constantly amazed that it even exists in a world that can be as rough, and cynical as this world can be. Nurture your little fire, keep it burning. It need not ever be big, it only needs to be kept burning,to light your way.

  • Carol Lovekin

    “Many of us are keeping our heads down.”
    Oh yes… These days I’m afraid to express certain deep-felt views. Afraid FFS. And this from a die-hard feminist with attitude! Which is of course, part of the problem. Being a feminist has never been easy but then no one said it would be… The world has become a potentially dangerous place for a woman with a strong view. And so I keep a good deal of my fire in my heart – certainly in public. I hope it’s still in my eyes…

    Lovely poem – perfect. xXx

  • Rick

    This is a beautiful poem, especially the last three lines, but really all of it. Beyond brilliant!

  • John Davis

    Thank you Nimue….for both sharing your struggles and your beautiful, precious fruits with us. Thinking over some of the dark things and overwhelming things that you’ve been brave enough to share, I happened to notice the footpaths where I live, and many of the “gardens”, all tarmac or paving slabs…..and yet, here and there, little shoots of green “weeds” have emerged. Underneath the weight of oppression life wills its way towards the light. John /l\

  • David

    That is a really beautiful piece of writing. I’m writing my first novel “55BC The Awakening”, and I have my black days. Your blog is a constant source of inspiration.
    Thank you,
    David

    • Nimue Brown

      It’s worth knowing that most first novels are abandoned rather than published and that this is fine – there is so much to be learned in the writing of one, its more like an apprenticeship than anything else. enjoy it, and best of luck with it, but don’t worry if it doesn’t work out as planned because the vast majority don’t, and it is usually book two or three that goes somewhere.

Leave a Reply

