A sudden spring

Last Friday when we walked through the wood it was all much as it had been through the winter. There were buds fattening, but that was all. We walked through the same wood two days later, and everything had changed. The brown of dead leaves covering the ground had been replaced by green as the wild garlic had come through. Elder leaves were unfurling in earnest – they always are early in that spot. The wild plum had produced its first flowers.

This is a route I usually walk several times over a week, so I know its habits well and watch it for seasonal changes. Going from brown to green so quickly startled me. But then, the Friday had been warm enough to be without a coat and this had clearly affected the soil.

I read once that as trees feel the approach of spring and gear up, they put out heat – not a vast amount, but enough to give any plants at their base a head start, too.

Last week I blogged about spring walking, and the uncertainties of planning long wanders early in the season. I worried about the cold. What happened instead was that I was stripped down to bare arms at one point in the walk, with too much sun an unexpected issue. I’m not sure if it’s sun stroke or heat stroke that gets me, but I’ve never had to think about either in February before. March yes, but not February.

There were kingcups in flower, the celandines are out and I found some amazing snowdrop patches. I didn’t have a camera, but I plan to change that. I don’t want to spend my time looking at the world through one, but I would like to collect more images of plants through the seasons. More of that as it happens.

About Nimue Brown

Druid, author, dreamer, folk enthusiast, parent, wife to the most amazing artist -Tom Brown. Drinker of coffee, maker of puddings. Exploring life as a Pagan, seeking good and meaningful ways to be, struggling with mental health issues and worried about many things. View all posts by Nimue Brown

3 responses to “A sudden spring

  • Karen's World

    I love the first sightings of spring, it gives you hope that the bleary winter is almost over.

  • Yvonne Ryves

    The same sudden change has taken place where I live in Ireland too. Last Friday dead branches, yesterday beautiful pink blossom. Last week week no sign of bulbs, this week daffodils and crocuses. Love when the spring arrives 🙂

  • In The Autumn Of My Life

    I love taking photos on our walks, always have my camera with me. Going through them a few days later always seems to heighten the feelings of the trip and brings back that peace and wonderment of nature. I think it’s a lovely idea to compare the seasons visually through that media too. You will always see something new, especially on the close ups.

Leave a Reply

