Seeing stars

Last week some people with hard hats came and took away our orange street lamp bulbs, and replaced the units with new ones. Instead of the orange glow, we have a much nicer light, and none of it comes in through the windows.

Light pollution is so normal that we often don’t consciously notice it. The invasive orange glow has permeated every conventional home I’ve ever had. When we lived on the boat it was possible to moor up in dark places and be free from direct street lighting, but that made the orange glow of nearby towns very obvious.

Orange street lights block out the stars – not only for the people nearest the streetlight, but for miles around. The night is made small by light pollution, we’re locked into the little orange bubble of human civilization and we don’t see or know the darkness.

I’m wholly enchanted by the new lights. I can look over the top of the streetlight, and see the stars. The orange bubble has burst, and in its place, I have the magic of the night sky without having to step outside – and on a cold, wintery night, that’s a real blessing. It’s also much easier to achieve proper darkness, and thus proper rest.

I don’t think technology is the magic answer to everything, nor do I think it is an evil we must escape from to get back to nature. Technology used wisely, is a blessing.

About Nimue Brown

Druid, author, dreamer, folk enthusiast, parent, wife to the most amazing artist -Tom Brown. Drinker of coffee, maker of puddings. Exploring life as a Pagan, seeking good and meaningful ways to be, struggling with mental health issues and worried about many things. View all posts by Nimue Brown

4 responses to “Seeing stars

  • Christopher Blackwell

    Glad that you can see the stars again.

    • Nimue Brown

      I’ve always had places I can go out to – I’m very lucky that way, but it does make a difference having the night sky right outside the window.

      • Christopher Blackwell

        Even with my very poor eyesight, especially since the cataract operation on my good eye ,without glasses ,I can still see a great many stars and the Milky Way from my front yard.

        Next week, I go for hopefully last eye examination, the tenth one since the operation Dec.1. Then I can have glasses made and I will finally discover how much eye sight that I have left. I have not been able to read a book, newspaper, or even a phone book for two months. I still have two dozen books to read, if I can read again. So perhaps by the middle of next month I will finally know.

        I can read the internet only at maximum magnification and even then sometimes need a magnifying glass. A legally blind friend of mine says that the Kindle White Page has allowed her to read again, so there may be anor option for me, but a lot of the books that I normally read are not going to be on Kindle. Oh well, I will adjust to this like so many other things. As they say, “Aging is not for sissies.”

Leave a Reply

