That New Year thing

An arbitrary date change is as good a reason as any to pause, look back and look forward. Since giving up the aspects of self-abuse and flagellation (lose weight no longer features on my list) I’ve come to rather enjoy the process of setting intentions and checking in at the end of the year to see how I did. The blog is decidedly helpful in this regard.

Last year’s resolutions were all met. I read more books, I sold a lot of books, and I did a far better job of picking my fights and not investing energy where it would clearly do no good. Last year I also resolved to go to the pub more, have more live performance in my life, and dance more, and these have been the areas of wildest success.

This summer I discovered Dawn Morgan’s 5 Rhythms classes, which are fantastic. I’ve gone once a month, ish, and my confidence, balance and joy in dancing have improved greatly. I’ve danced more at home as a consequence.

Stroud Out Loud (a monthly spoken word based gathering) became my opening gambit for ‘more live stuff’ and is a brilliant event, and has since spawned an occasional singing session that goes to the pub. This year has seen a fantastic upswing in my social life – improved energy levels and really feeling that I’ve found my tribe now. I’ve got people to do things with.

I intend to keep going with all of the things on last year’s list. So, here’s the stretch-goal list for 2017

  1. Improve my stamina so that 2 hours of fun stuff (walking, dancing) does not challenge me at all.
  2. Remove the mute button, and be as I am with more people more of the time.
  3. Ceilidh
  4. Write songs. Even if I only sing them twice in public, before I go off them, I want to do more of this.
  5. Cause more fun stuff to happen.
  6. Pick up some new skills (maybe craft skills, I don’t know, we’ll see what comes along).

 

Despite the international politics, despite the many environmental issues that worry me greatly, despite the many good and beautiful people who died in 2016, it was a good year for me overall. All years have their share of pain and challenges in them, that’s a given. And despite all the bigger picture issues, I feel optimistic about next year. 2016 saw a lot of changes, I think I grew and healed a considerable amount and I feel ready to move forward towards better things. More books. Lovely people. More walking and dancing and singing and going to the pub.

About Nimue Brown

Druid, author, dreamer, folk enthusiast, parent, wife to the most amazing artist -Tom Brown. Drinker of coffee, maker of puddings. Exploring life as a Pagan, seeking good and meaningful ways to be, struggling with mental health issues and worried about many things. View all posts by Nimue Brown

5 responses to “That New Year thing

  • Tracy Kruse

    Lovely! I have an almost identical list…except that where you have #4, I have painting, and I have one more, to learn Scrivner. lol Sendiing you immense love and gratitude for the oh-so-many times that you spoke to my heart, uplifted me, and illustrated true strength. Wishing you a New Year filled with abundant blessings!

  • Rick Finney

    2016 was a strange year, for sure. After seeing how wound up I got this year over developments in the world, I’ve decided that happiness in the home is the best thing to go for in 2017, especially when so many people with equal amounts of intelligence and good will can end up disagreeing about politics. Here’s to a better New Year!

  • Nícia

    from your list, great things are going to happen. happy 2017 🙂

Leave a Reply

