It’s a dog eat dog world

Tom and I have a life built on co-operation – with each other, with other creative people and fellow travelers of all kinds. Things work better when people work together rather than competing with each other. We’re talking about what we do in the hopes of encouraging other people to step away from competitive ideas and towards something that we can promise, is a lot more fun!

The Moth Festival

he_hears_his__late__master_s_voice_by_copperage-d6wpbpb

Hello again people (and others) It’s been a while, for which I apologise.

I’m going to depart, a bit, from my usual subject matter here, or perhaps, talk about art and our work as a way to point to something else, and larger. It’s a commonly held belief that it is a dog eat dog world out there and you have to look out for number one and be ruthlessly competitive in order to survive and succeed. My belief is that this is only true if we participate in this way. Look at the saying, ‘it’s a jungle out there’, for instance. A jungle is a complex web of visible and microscopic interdependence. In that way, it really is a jungle out there, any why should it be otherwise? We’re hardly outside of nature.

Right. This is all a bit philosophical and ungrounded so far, so let me just talk…

View original post 408 more words

About Nimue Brown

Druid, author, dreamer, folk enthusiast, parent, wife to the most amazing artist -Tom Brown. Drinker of coffee, maker of puddings. Exploring life as a Pagan, seeking good and meaningful ways to be, struggling with mental health issues and worried about many things. View all posts by Nimue Brown

2 responses to “It’s a dog eat dog world

  • Christopher Blackwell

    Read it an agree. As I mentioned to your birthday wishes, even my many medical trips of late give me a chance to create the society that I want to live in my striking up with conversations with people that I seek out.

    I talked to six Muslim and expressed my concern over how difficult it is to be Muslim in this country, told them that I support their rights, mentioned that I understood a bit of our history of meddling in the Near East creating many of the present problems since World War One. I have no idea what they thought about it, but I figured that at least it did not seem to be unpleasant to them and they probably could use a bit of support at this time, even if only in talk. Two were Muslim women.

    I talked a bit offering my personal support for the right of women to have control over their own lives in general.They were eating as a group at the University cafeteria where I was taking are a rest break from my walker and getting more coffee in me.Two of the Three of the a fore mention Muslims, two of the women, I mentioned I met at the same place the same place.

    On my three mile walk spent twenty minutes talking with a homeless lady with all of her possessions in a shopping cart with a little dog on top. We had a good if wandering subjects talk. We both enjoyed it. I used it as a rest break.

    At the VA hospital I got in a conversation with a janitor, discussed his work, and my former work as a janitor. Met an old man who asked for help getting food. So I bought him a meal and he ate twice as much as I did. That was the only money cost. I left him to enjoy his meal in private.

    On the long bus trip home, started a conversation with a 35 year old Black lady who has just started as a truck driver as there were no decent paying jobs in her area. Her husband works near home, at home and raises the children. Rough for her, but she does what many women have to do for the good of her family economic health and well being. She made no complaints and I kept her laughing for nearly four hours with stories of my rather odd life. To me, this is the most important duty that I have to my gods, to create support, encouragement and make people laugh. I want a society where that happens, so I make it happen where I can.

    I can’t change anyone,nor would I want the power to do so,but I can do myself. It is far better to show what is possible rather than to preach at people. [Grin] Preaching puts people on the defensive and then they don’t hear the message anyway, just resent you.

Leave a Reply

