Walking the Invisible Labyrinth

I woke up one morning recently with the entirely mad idea of walking an invisible labyrinth. I feel less mad about this having read Halo Quin’s fantastic comment on a previous post about how she’s working with singing a labyrinth map so that she can walk it without having to have one laid out.

My latest experiment has been to draw a good sized version of my preferred labyrinth, and to try and follow it by walking the map. I had a flat-ish safe-ish sort of place outside, big enough based on previous assessments, and the map clutched in my hands, and off I went, very slowly.

I learned, at the very first turn that I would have to rotate the map in my hands constantly so that I could see the next move each time. It was a little bit fiddly, but a slow pace is a great enabler. At first, it felt weird, and a lot of my concentration was taken up by dealing with the process – so it didn’t feel especially spiritual to begin with. As I got into it, I could feel the flow of the journey, and that was quite an affecting shift. As I came into the last few turns, knowing I had very nearly walked to the centre, I felt elated.

I would guess that the route I walked was a very messy labyrinth, but none the less, it created a process in my mind. I think that with practice, I would get better at this, would need to scrutinise the map less and would feel the process more. I imagine it would be possible to ingrain the route into my body so thoroughly that I could walk it without reference to a map at all.

I have further labyrinth experiments planned, so there is definitely more to come, but it will likely be more sporadic from here.

About Nimue Brown

Druid, author, dreamer, folk enthusiast, parent, wife to the most amazing artist -Tom Brown. Drinker of coffee, maker of puddings. Exploring life as a Pagan, seeking good and meaningful ways to be, struggling with mental health issues and worried about many things. View all posts by Nimue Brown

2 responses to “Walking the Invisible Labyrinth

Leave a Reply

