The books that shouldn’t sell…

I love books, but the publishing industry itself frustrates, depresses and infuriates me much of the time. This is a reblog from Niff Soup, home of Matlock the Hare. Matlock the Hare is a fantastic series (3rd one out this autumn). It is everything I want books to be, whereas much of what I find in bookshops, isn’t what I want to read. So, do hop over to the blogpost (I know, I know, but you’re going to forgive me because I’m a bit sleep deprived…)

Niff Soup

“What readers need,” a portly editor from a major publishing company told me many years ago as he confidently struck a pen through great swathes of my manuscript, “is peril.  Plenty of peril. A lot less of all this ‘character and emotion’ nonsense. Ideally, it’s a woman in peril. All the drama you need in just those three words – woman in peril. Saves readers having to believe in a character, see?”

The truth was, I didn’t ‘see’.

“How about,” he suggested, scribbling over the first line of the manuscript, “we start it with – ‘She woke up to a knife at her throat’?”

“I don’t think so,” I said, gathering the remains of my work before asking, “Do you think Gulliver’s Travels would have been published today?”

He blinked back, confused. “The bloke who gets tied up on a beach by some dwarves? No chance. Where’s the peril in…

View original post 780 more words

About Nimue Brown

Druid, author, dreamer, folk enthusiast, parent, wife to the most amazing artist -Tom Brown. Drinker of coffee, maker of puddings. Exploring life as a Pagan, seeking good and meaningful ways to be, struggling with mental health issues and worried about many things. View all posts by Nimue Brown

Leave a Reply

