Meditation for people who mostly can’t

This year, The Pagan Federation Disabilities Team has run an online festival. Part of the idea is to make a festival that is available to people who can’t normally get to Pagan events. You can find it here – https://www.facebook.com/events/1834295640131014/ It’s still happening…

I made a film about meditation. When a person is depressed, anxious, ill or in pain, mediation can be very hard, and many forms can do you more harm than good.

Normally I make videos when I’m at my best. I wait until I’m awake and really focused, and that can mean days pass between the idea for a video and the making of one. On the day of recording, I’ll set my work up carefully so that I’m not exhausted over overloaded before I start. I have limited energy, so this is essential to my getting the best results I can.

With this video, I didn’t do that. I was tired, and my attention was poor, and at one point I could not remember the proper words for a thing I was trying to talk about (Sheena Cundy’s Nature Oracle Cards). I could have made a second recording. I could have edited. I didn’t, because I wanted to share something of the reality of trying to work with a brain that’s grinding to a halt.

Like most people with problems, I’m good at hiding it. For a disabilities event, it made sense to be more honest, as a gesture of solidarity with everyone else who is struggling.

About Nimue Brown

Druid, author, dreamer, folk enthusiast, parent, wife to the most amazing artist -Tom Brown. Drinker of coffee, maker of puddings. Exploring life as a Pagan, seeking good and meaningful ways to be, struggling with mental health issues and worried about many things. View all posts by Nimue Brown

5 responses to “Meditation for people who mostly can’t

  • Rick Finney

    This was very helpful, and you spoke beautifully. Being genuine, and true to however you are from one moment to the next, really does count for a lot.

  • Christopher Blackwell

    I can mediate longer over time, but I would question as to how deep that I ever do as I don’t ever seem to lose touch with the world around me, just dull it a bit. As to ceremony, well I am just grateful that I do not have to use my walker doing the round the circle when I lay out the circle. But I am a afraid that doing dance of any kind is no longer possible, I am just too unsteady. Meanwhile I do most of my meditation sitting in my larger walker with wheels and seat. I am limited how far that I can walk, I can’t do much of anything physical for more than twenty to thirty minutes and I cannot drive, so except for my weekly trip to town for shopping, driven by a friend, I only occasionally leave my shop and then mostly to open and close, turning various signs around or exchanging open with closed signs, or opening the two various chain gates at the ends of my driveway, or my watering or feeding the local wildlife.. Other wise I spend most of the day in front of my computer and online except for the many little snacks that I feed the cat, both for my need for some exercise and his need for some exercise, jumping up of the display table for his snack or coming over the bother me when he wants more. He is getting old and would lay around all day if I didn’t make him come ask for his snack.

  • maccanut

    thank you so much for doing the video,at the moment i have hit a dark days week which i try to fight but finaly i just lie down too this video was good and i will be try a few of the things that you have mentioned doing.
    blessings goddess
    gail

  • Kaylee

    Thank you so much for simply acknowledging that there are times when meditation is not a good choice for some people. I am so tired of being told to meditate when I am depressed or anxious because it is a sure way of making things worse. Even when I try to explain my problems, they still try to force meditation down my throat. I have found that guided meditations do work for me when I’m not feeling well.

    I haven’t tried any of what you have suggested, but I will. They sound like they might work for me, especially when I’m in my not good place.

    • Nimue Brown

      Hanging out with a friendly object has a very different effect to it, I can promise that much. If you can pick something that feels a bit affirming, that also helps.

Leave a Reply

