Favourite Druid things

I’ve done a couple of Steampunk posts recently on favourite people, so I thought today I’d put together a list of favourite Druid things. In no particular order…

Druid Camp – organised by Mark Graham, this is a gathering of several hundred Druids in a beautiful location in the Forest of Dean each summer, for a bit under a week. Talks, workshops, music, community, inspiration. I’ve done three now. It draws in many of my favourite people.

OBOD – The Order of Bards, Ovates and Druids taught me when I’d been led to believe myself unteachable, welcomed me when I had been excluded, and gave me a sense of dignity when I was largely on my knees over other issues. It is an honour to be able to contribute.

Contemplative Druidry – a monthly group meeting to sit quietly, and a way of doing things. Being in this space has taught me to slow down and let go, to face up to my fragility, and to trust. I’m not good at trusting people, I find it hard to feel like I belong anywhere, but this group has caused me to face those assumptions and rethink them.

Druid Music – Damh The Bard, Paul Mitchell, Paul Newman, Talis Kimberly, Arthur Billington, to name some obvious names, and beyond that just that there is Druid music, and that our rituals have songs and tunes in them, and we can connect, celebrate and share in this way.

Druid books and authors. Ronald Hutton, Cat Treadwell, Robin Herne, Penny Billington, Graeme K Talboys, Brendan Myers, Morgan Daimler, Kris Hughes, Philip Carr Gomm, Brendan Howlin, Lorna Smithers, and beyond that everyone writing blogs, and poetry, and articles, and writers who aren’t intentionally Druidic but teach me folklore and history and landscape and all the other things I feel a need to know about.

People doing stuff – and there’s so much of it that I can’t hope to name check. Artists, crafters, activisits, photographers, dancers, runners, people taking their Druidry into their work, into volunteering, and charity, and acts of generosity. There are many, many names that deserve to be mentioned here. People I meet at events, locally and online. But this is one of the things about the Druid community – perhaps one of the most important things – that it is a lived tradition. It’s not something we do at the weekend, or at special festivals only – it’s a day to day thing shaping how people live, and driving people to acts of beauty, abundance and radical change. It takes us to protests and politics, to knitting and animal welfare and countless other things.

We meet primarily as people doing stuff – on an equal footing, because we are all active in some way, all experienced in some field – or working on becoming that, for the younger and newer folk. I look at the Druids I know and I see so much to love, and respect and get excited about.

About Nimue Brown

Druid, author, dreamer, folk enthusiast, parent, wife to the most amazing artist -Tom Brown. Drinker of coffee, maker of puddings. Exploring life as a Pagan, seeking good and meaningful ways to be, struggling with mental health issues and worried about many things. View all posts by Nimue Brown

One response to “Favourite Druid things

  • Christopher Blackwell

    It is always good to surround yourself with friendly people, who can give a bit support if needed, but will not try to run you life. That way you are free to experiment and find out what works for you now. The freedom to change yourself is important to your development and your happiness. You can also encourage others to find their own way as well.

Leave a Reply

