BOOK REVIEW: PAGAN PLANET

There are few things more exciting for an author, or, it turns out, the editor of an anthology, to have someone totally get what you were trying to do. This is not a review, because James Nichol was also part of the Pagan Planet anthology, but it is a reflection on the project as a whole that makes me very happy indeed…

contemplativeinquiry

jhp55ddc04c930d1“For this reason I am doing what I do, working towards …. the more beautiful world our hearts know is possible”. Simon Wakefield is a biologist, Druid and contributor to Pagan Planet: Being, Believing and Belonging in the 21st Century. He talks about the “most profound experience of my life” when observing a nesting sea turtle on a starlit Greek beach. “Putting aside all the requirements to measure and monitor I decided just to be present, and I opened up to an experience of deep time and an ancient longing by another creature simply to be, to express its uniqueness, which has never left me”.

For me, Simon has expressed a point of unity in this diverse collection of essays edited by Nimue Brown and published by Moon Books. The authors come from a variety of Pagan traditions, though with a tilt towards Druidry. Many stand witness to a…

View original post 805 more words

About Nimue Brown

Druid, author, dreamer, folk enthusiast, parent, wife to the most amazing artist -Tom Brown. Drinker of coffee, maker of puddings. Exploring life as a Pagan, seeking good and meaningful ways to be, struggling with mental health issues and worried about many things. View all posts by Nimue Brown

3 responses to “BOOK REVIEW: PAGAN PLANET

  • Christopher Blackwell

    Interesting timing on this piece. The owner of the local book store happens to live in my part of my county and just hand delivered my copy of this book to my home and shop this morning.

    Of course the fat that I have ordered and paid for over a hundred dollars worth of books may have helped her make that decision. But I always have her order the books that I want, though I may use the Internet to get all my information together for her. But when you live in a small farming and ranching town having a local books store that does not think it odd that you order some very Pagan books, well it comes in handy to give it all of your support.

    But it is also the reason that I go ahead and pay in advance so that they store does not have to risk any money and they can put the money to use right away. No doubt that i could get it a bit cheaper on the Internet, however I don’t like the bother of PayPal, or credit cards, and it is nice to have a physical book store where you can look through books before you buy them. Also knowing my interests, they sometimes will look for a book that they think I might find interesting.

Leave a Reply

