New Year Plotting

It’s that point when its tempting to look back and look forward, think about things, plot things. So, here we go. This last year has been ok – not terrible, not ecstatic, but a fairly functional mix of highs and lows, more progress than setback, and enough seeds planted for the future to feel hopeful. Most of the highs involved events and people. Most of the lows involved people.

In terms of last year’s resolutions, I did a pretty good job of working with them. I successfully increased the amount of cake in my life. I have not noticeably gained weight, probably the opposite. I have walked more – especially leisure walking, and longer distance walks. I did not manage to have this be as social an activity as I’d hoped, but people are showing up who do want to play, so I think that’s only going to improve. I did spend more time doing nothing. There’s still lots of scope to improve on this. One of the ways I’m improving is by taking more time off. I haven’t quite taken down capitalism yet, but I’m seeing more moves in that direction all the time from other people!

This year’s resolutions then:

  1. To read more books. Because books are good, reading for leisure is good, talking about books is good, lending people books is good and there’s going to be more of it.
  2. Go to the pub more. Not just to talk about books, but also as part of number three…
  3. Get more live music and other live performance into my life. This is in no small part about managing my energy such that I have the physical resources to go out in the evening more.
  4. To sell a lot of books. Not necessarily my own, although that would be fine, but to get more good books into people’s hands. Probably not by jumping out of darkened alleys ways dressed as Batman and thrusting novels into the hands of alarmed passers by, and demanding payment, but you never know.
  5. To stop angsting over unwinnable fights and focus my time on energy on doing good things that make a difference. Where ‘good things’ and ‘making a difference’ are going to be mine to define as I’m going along.
  6. To dance more. Possibly in public, possibly as part of resolution numbers 2 and 3. I used to dance a lot, I want that back.

Whatever you’re planning to do with 2016, I hope it brings you gentle abundance, peace, and the opportunity to share that around a bit to good effect.

About Nimue Brown

Druid, author, dreamer, folk enthusiast, parent, wife to the most amazing artist -Tom Brown. Drinker of coffee, maker of puddings. Exploring life as a Pagan, seeking good and meaningful ways to be, struggling with mental health issues and worried about many things. View all posts by Nimue Brown

5 responses to “New Year Plotting

  • Cadno Ddraig

    These are fantastic resolutions! May the Awen be with you!

  • WitchHemlock

    There is always Morris Dancing…works for me!! Xxx

  • Christopher Blackwell

    I only make one New Years resolution, to not make any. Works so far for me. I wait to discover what is going to happen during the next year and I realize that most of what will happen to me, I will have no forewarning of, nor power to change.

    My power is limited to how I choose to react to it, and whether I allow what happens to make me happy, or not, and for how long.

    I do very little planning, and at best only loose planning, as I have to allow for the unknown including emergencies, and even death being age seventy.

    There is an irony that much of the lessons, that I have learned that help me be a happy person, came from some of my worse experiences.

  • Friday Round – Up |

    […] Nimue Brown, author, offers up her New Year’s Resolutions, which are, put simply, to enjoy lif… […]

  • greenmackenzie

    Love the sound of your new year….more cake and more walkingđź’•

Leave a Reply

