Flash fiction

Pure wickedness

“My Debbie” he says, and in theory there is no reason for this. She is not, in any legal or technical sense his, unless the phrase is an accidental confession to an affair. But I think not. A different kind of slip, something more subtle, and not necessarily a mistake.

A warning shot across the bows, perhaps. Don’t get cocky, don’t assume, don’t take for granted. There are Debbies to be claimed. There could be Sharons, Emmas, a veritable sea of Rachels and Cecilies all available at short notice, should the need arise. There may well be a my Katherine out there, and a my Sabrina Hestlethwaite-Jones.

Perhaps the last example is a little far fetched, as I am confident that he does not know Sabrina, either in her maiden form from my school days, or her slightly annoying social media self with insufficiently plummy husband, who is the butt of her many jokes.

Even so, it is not difficult to imagine him saying ‘my Sabrina Hestlethwaite-Jones’. And she would be, because she never could resist a man in charge.

A collector, then. Perhaps a connoisseur. Or a man offering this woman up as a shield. Not a man claiming ownership necessarily, but a man suggesting that he is already accounted for, several times over, with claims upon his time and resources that it would be as well to take into account. A step back, perhaps. A cautious note.

I take these things seriously. I claim no names; not as warning shots and not as shields. Possession is not something to speak of. What is truly owned need not be mentioned.

About Nimue Brown

Druid, author, dreamer, folk enthusiast, parent, wife to the most amazing artist -Tom Brown. Drinker of coffee, maker of puddings. Exploring life as a Pagan, seeking good and meaningful ways to be, struggling with mental health issues and worried about many things. View all posts by Nimue Brown

3 responses to “Flash fiction

  • Kaylee

    I just want to say that is a great piece of writing.

  • Pauline

    i did really enjoy this and have read it several times. I cannot but wonder how it would be to have been named Sabrina Hestlethwaite Jones! I am interested in the title ‘Pure Wickedness’ – could you comment on this, please?

    • Nimue Brown

      I wrote it originally for someone, the title belonged to that dynamic, and when I decided to put the short story on the blog, I couldn’t think of anything that I preferred as a title, so it stayed. I struggle with titles at the best of times. In it’s original context, the title was designed to indicate that I was taking the piss a bit, in a friendly way. Stripped of that context I mostly hope it just creates an impression of wickedness in the sense that overly lush confectionery can be a tad wicked.

Leave a Reply

