Talking about books

I spend a lot of time talking about books. Partly because, some of the time, it’s my job to do so. How cool is that? I also spend a fair bit of time talking about books because reading is something I do for fun, to learn, to be part of a wider community. What I struggle with is talking about the books that I’ve written. So much so that in a recent social media conversation about dream interpretation, it was pretty obvious that most of my online friends hadn’t the faintest idea I’d written a book on the subject of dreaming.

So, why am I doing such a poor job of promoting my own work? Well, for one, by the time I’ve written it, I tend to have said everything I ever wanted to say on the subject. At least for the next few years. I’m just at the moment getting interested in talking about meditation again, nearly 5 years after my meditation book came out. I also assume that you (dear reader) do not come to my blog to read me banging on about my books and trying to sell them to you.

I’m not personally attracted to authors who spend most of their time banging on about their books. The closer it is to a hard sell, the less interested I am. But at the same time, selling books makes my publisher happy (and I really like my publisher, he’s an excellent chap). Producing an income stream would make it easier to keep writing. So, if you want any of my Pagan books, they’re over here. And if you don’t, that’s fine! I’ll still blog.

It’s possible, I realise, that there may be things of interest about my books, so I’m just going to throw this open. If there’s things you’d like me to include here, pop it in the comments and I’ll see what I can do to oblige. Possibilities might include book excerpts, bits from other people reviewing my books, information about what I’m working on at the moment and why (a novel, as it happens, I’m not sure what/if to do next on the Pagan book front, again, open to suggestions!)

If you’d rather not have too much content pertaining to my books, do please say, because that’s helpful to know. The whole point of this blog is to be useful and interesting to other people, but at the moment I’m only guessing as to what delivers that.

About Nimue Brown

Druid, author, dreamer, folk enthusiast, parent, wife to the most amazing artist -Tom Brown. Drinker of coffee, maker of puddings. Exploring life as a Pagan, seeking good and meaningful ways to be, struggling with mental health issues and worried about many things. View all posts by Nimue Brown

8 responses to “Talking about books

  • Sheila North

    I knew & know about your books, especially “Pagan Dreaming”. Would like to hear more about your “Druidry and Meditation” and “Druidry and the Ancestors” books, and thoughts.

    What is the right balance? Wish I knew! I don’t want to read blogs where people are always selling, but is good. If I enjoy someone’s blogs, by buying their books, I increase the time they can spend blogging, and writing.

  • Argenta

    I really, truly admire your blog for not turning out to be a place you run just to sell your stuff. This has happened more times than I care to remember with other people whose writing I loved, the result of which was unsubscribing from their content altogether.

    That said, I think that excerpts from books would be lovely to read, as a flavour of what one may expect when buying one. It doesn’t have to be an advertisement, simply a sample of some of your other writing — similar to what you do with your poems here. Also, it might give you a day or two when you don’t have to write new content for the blog, and so rest, or enjoy another type of leisure.

  • Cadno Ddraig

    Actually, I would be curious to know more about the things you write.

  • Genealogy Jen

    I didn’t see a link to check out the books. I think it would be a natural postscript on related topics if you said that a person could read more of what you’d written on that topic and attach a link. It’s not shameless self promotion. A person’s gotta eat.

  • Kaylee

    There’s nothing wrong with tooting you own horn now and again. I’d love to hear more about your books. If your books are anything like your blog writing, they must be pretty good.

  • Terra

    I have bought five of your books so far. I bought your books because I read your blog. I did not buy your books because you promoted them on your blog. If your blog posts just said, “My books are great. You should buy them,” then I would not be reading your blog, and therefore I would not have bought your books. But in writing blog posts that are interesting, you caused me to be interested in reading your books.

Leave a Reply

