Leaving the thorn forest

I have committed to taking a journey, into the dark places of my own soul in search of the truth of myself, with the intention of healing and changing myself and my life. I do not think this is going to be pretty. I think it’s going to be like walking into a thorn forest and making a path through it using only my body. I expect to bleed and to lose bits of skin, in a metaphorical sort of way.

No one has to watch this.

However, I know there are other people out there whose lives are tightly boundaried by thorn forests of their own. People who are lost and hurting and struggling to live. You are welcome to come with me. If you can use any of my bloody trails, use them. If you want to share, then share. I can hear anything that comes from this kind of situation.

I am going to walk out of the thorn forest, even if on the far side of it all I have left are bones.

I am going to walk out of this forest and leave a path, and a map, and whatever signs I can put up as I go, because if I can help one other person do the same and reclaim their life, that’s an epic bonus. But I’m not doing this for anyone else, I’m doing it for me. By whatever means are necessary.

About Nimue Brown

Druid, author, dreamer, folk enthusiast, parent, wife to the most amazing artist -Tom Brown. Drinker of coffee, maker of puddings. Exploring life as a Pagan, seeking good and meaningful ways to be, struggling with mental health issues and worried about many things. View all posts by Nimue Brown

6 responses to “Leaving the thorn forest

  • angharadlois

    Journey well, and take care of all the cuts and scrapes you pick up on the way.xx

  • dapplegrey

    What you are embarking on may feel frightening (to say the least) but it’s been my experience that when you do step out into what seems like the abyss you find that there’s a sort of invisible safety net that you never find until you allow yourself to fall. I wish you all kinds of well. Be kind to yourself, fill your heart with compassion for yourself, go softly, and may you find every kind of healing. There are many of us who think of you and will be walking with you.

  • Dawn@CL

    You are a brave soul although you may not feel that way now. I began a similar journey three years ago and I’m still wandering that thorn forest. Go find what peace and healing you can.

  • Sky Bray

    Good on you! I also have been in the thorns, which I also began three years ago (funny that) – though I call it ‘the fortress’. I look forward to reading of your journey.

  • sepultura13

    I understand this, and relate to the commenter who said that she calls it “the fortress.”

    I built some huge walls to defend and protect myself…there is a door, but it is very well-hidden.

    Tread carefully in the thorn forest, but confidently – they grew to shelter you, so you know the safe path through them.
    🙂

  • lornasmithers

    Good luck, Nimue. In the words of a close guide: “know that others have walked this path before You’re not alone.”

    Not sure if this resonates at all but I’ve recently been meditating on Blake’s ‘Los Entering the Grave’. I see mind-forged manacles above the frame, thorns beneath his feet… Los was Blake’s incarnation of Imagination. His struggles led to the transformation of London into Jerusalem.

    Take care x

Leave a Reply

