Belief, politics and seeds for action

I believe that human rights are the foundation of a civilized society. I will not co-operate with anything that undermines them. I believe that we only have one planet and that its preservation is essential. I will not co-operate with planet destruction or environmental degradation.

I will resist tyranny, oppression and environmental damage by whatever honourable means are available to me. I will speak out, use what economic power I have, and if needs be put my body in the way of threats to my society and my land.

I will do whatever I can to uplift, support and enable all others who are resisting. I will not blame anyone who is too frightened or under-informed to fight for life and liberty, but I will seek to educate and demonstrate through my own actions to the best of my ability.

I will use what resources I have to alleviate suffering where I can, to protect life, and to protect our precious eco-systems. I will work in all ways available to me to create a better, fairer, sustainable and kinder future.

I will challenge greed, oppression, short term thinking and eco-suicide by any honourable means available to me.

I recognise that I am one finite human being with limited resources of time, energy and money, and I will resist in ways I can sustain for the longer term and I will not resist by doing the things I am opposed to. I will act in line with my beliefs in all things. I will not allow fear, short termism or personal advantage to sway me from what is just, good and needed. I will seek the greater good in all things.

If you agree with any or all of this statement, you are welcome to reuse any part or the whole in any way you see fit.

About Nimue Brown

Druid, author, dreamer, folk enthusiast, parent, wife to the most amazing artist -Tom Brown. Drinker of coffee, maker of puddings. Exploring life as a Pagan, seeking good and meaningful ways to be, struggling with mental health issues and worried about many things. View all posts by Nimue Brown

13 responses to “Belief, politics and seeds for action

  • Arwydd

    This is something I struggle with on a daily basis. I feel sometimes suffocated by the feeling that one’s own efforts are not going to be enough to fix this mess. I rejoice when I see others who feel as passionately about this planet as I do.

    I struggle with how angry other peoples’ apathy on this subject makes me. I try speaking up about it, and doing what I can in my immediate environment, but your post gives me some ideas on more things I could be doing, so thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Nimue Brown

      Hang on in there. You are not alone, and more people are waking up and looking around them every day. I do not think the path ahead is going to be easy, but I do think there are reasons for hope.

      • Arwydd

        I am a worry wart, lol! I have lots of friends in real life who care about this stuff too, so that reassures me, but are those of us who do care, doing enough for what needs to be done? This is what I struggle with. But the point, I suppose, is not to give up, regardless, right?

  • Nimue Brown

    that’s the one. Maybe we won’t win this round, but we increase the odds that some other people can win it in the future.

  • Christopher Blackwell

    Ideas are dangerous. Therefore put out as many as you can. Ideas cab be buried and forgotten, only to pop up suddenly and unexpectedly, much like a old land mines fro a early forgotten war.

    This is the reason why the powers that rule us are afraid of people who think and question. This is why school children are only taught rote answers to repeat back during tests. They are taught that thinking is difficult, time consuming, and should be left to the alleged experts that support those powers that rule us.

    Be truly revolutionary, and teach children that thinking is an endlessly fun game that can be played anywhere. No batteries, nor power source required, and it can be done for free. Suggest using Manually Operated Information Storage and Retrieval Units sometimes referred to by the archaic name, Books.

  • Sarah Chatwin

    Hear hear…..I could not agree more.

  • landisvance

    I find that two things block how effectively I can make my case to others. I get very exorcised about the stupidity and venality that I see around me in my world, to the point where the best I can do is sputter and rage. Other times I am locked in fear. But, in the course of even formulating this short comment and idea of what I can do has come to me! Yay!! I also determined some time ago that perhaps what I need to do is provide loving, healing energy out into the universe because there is so much hatred and anger now that there must be a counter-balance. Sometimes that witness is enough to challenge people to reevaluate themselves.

  • Linda

    What a beautiful and powerful statement — I do agree and try to live these things every day and encourage others to do so as well. When is the poster coming out?

  • Lesley

    As Linda said – a beautiful, powerful statement with honour and integrity threaded throughout. Thank you for posting and thank you for being generous enough to say that your piece can be used however we see fit. Kudos.

Leave a Reply

