On not meditating

one of the reasons I don’t go in for clear the head meditation, is that like Yvonne, I can’t do it….

Solitary Path

Meditation came up in discussion with one of my blog followers recently and I was saying that I don’t meditate at all. I find that this often causes people to be surprised for there is a common assumption that anyone who is in any way spiritual must meditate.

It is known that practicing meditation brings great benefits. The studies that have taken place on the effects meditation has on the brain and therefore on mental health all support the benefit of daily meditation. I have no idea on a personal level though as I have never been able to meditate at all.

Instead of meditation I practice Reiki. Studies have also shown that Reiki has a similar effect on the brain to meditation but although it makes me be still and focused I am aware that it is not actually meditation. I also spend time in light trance when working…

View original post 501 more words

About Nimue Brown

Druid, author, dreamer, folk enthusiast, parent, wife to the most amazing artist -Tom Brown. Drinker of coffee, maker of puddings. Exploring life as a Pagan, seeking good and meaningful ways to be, struggling with mental health issues and worried about many things. View all posts by Nimue Brown

5 responses to “On not meditating

  • treegod

    “In most forms of meditation the aim I believe is to clear and empty the mind or focus on one thing like a mantra for example.”

    This is quite impossible, because the mind has evolved to work and be busy with things. And from what I see is that those traditions that teach the so-called “clear/empty mind” meditations actually seem to talk about something else. The comments that meditation is for emptying the mind seems to come from outside these traditions (perhaps the projections of “noisy” Western minds).

    When I started reading about Buddhist meditation and focussing on the breath I remember the advice that the aim is not to eliminate/silence thoughts but to focus on something and gently observe the comings and goings of thoughts without going in any direction with them, whilst gently returning to the focus when we notice when we realise we have “wandered off”. It’s a sort of detachement where we can watch thoughts grow and wilt naturally like flowers.

    The reason it “doesn’t work” is that we have the wrong intention in place (clear/empty the mind). So when we use meditation to silence the mind, we will fail and keep failing because the whole point of the mind is to be active. But if we use it as a way of gaining focus, calmness and a more objective perspective of the thought process, we may have more success.

    I’m not a regular practitioner, but I believe the important thing is to cultivate a meditative attitude in daily life, and once you have familiarity with focussing the mind like this, you don’t have to lean on the practice so much.

  • Nimue Brown

    I find the same – can’t do the emptying of the mind, but gentle focus or making a quiet space for wandering work really well for me.

Leave a Reply

