Action adventure Druid

I don’t watch that many films, and I see very little television. I’m not immersed in contemporary norms for entertainment. I think this may be why I’m not engaging with certain things. Generally, calling a book a ‘page turner’ is deemed a compliment, but I get annoyed with books that tie me into racing plots and never give me time to think or breathe. Watching films at home, I notice that it’s during the fight scenes that I’m most likely to turn my attention towards a craft project.

Give me big explosions, fast moving fights, rapid chases through revolving scenery with pointy bits, lots of big things bashing into each other, be they machines or vast armies, and I get bored. Almost instantly. Yet this description sums up the majority of the film trailers I’ve been seeing. This, apparently is what I should be excited by, and instead I find it utterly tedious. You’ve seen one almost indestructible thing punching another nearly unbreakable thing and trust me, you’ve seen them all.

It’s not an issue with violence. Ok, I’m not inherently excited by death, gore and things killing things. I worry about the impact we have by continually telling ourselves stories in which violence is the answer to every problem. I like a stylish fight. Not too many participants so you can see the moves. Hand to hand weapons that require skills. I like fight scenes that have a bit of choreography about them – blame the swashbuckling films of my childhood, but if you’re going to kill someone, please dance them to death. Then, I can admire the skill and the staging.

In films, I pay attention to panoramic shots, silence, good dialogue, thoughtful narrative and well developed characters. I care less about the visual effects and more about whether the acting and story add up to something emotionally plausible. I like a slower pace with time to think. I am similar in my reading habits, preferring depth to speed every time.

Entertainment of recent years seems to have been led by the idea that people skim over the ‘dull bits’ – description, introspection, storytelling. Cut to the chase, we’re told. Show us some action. Throw in more explosions. But for me, what we’re doing is cutting the good bits, (landscape, conversation, storytelling, emotional plausibility)in favour of more dullness (things hitting things). I am not an adrenaline junkie, I do not want films that resemble a roller coaster ride.

It came as a pleasant surprise to find that I rather liked the second Hellboy film. There was a good swordfight, and some pace dropping for dramatic effect, and some lingering lovingly over the settings. And for the lack of those things, and too much hitting, I did not enjoy the Hobbit trilogy anything like as much as I wanted to.

About Nimue Brown

Druid, author, dreamer, folk enthusiast, parent, wife to the most amazing artist -Tom Brown. Drinker of coffee, maker of puddings. Exploring life as a Pagan, seeking good and meaningful ways to be, struggling with mental health issues and worried about many things. View all posts by Nimue Brown

5 responses to “Action adventure Druid

  • Terra

    Me too. The car chases, the gun fights, the spaceships, those are boring to me. When the “action” scenes start, I feel like nothing is happening, and I’m just waiting for the scene to pass, waiting to get back to something interesting. “Something interesting” is something that advances my knowledge of the people and their relationships with each other.

    However, I do enjoy the fight scenes in Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Her main weapon is a short stick, and the fight scenes are more like gymnastics or dance performances.

  • Christopher Blackwell

    Lets see how about a good story and plot, deceit acting and proper camera work. How about Jack or Judy nobody with just ordinary looks put into a difficult situation and discovering their unknown strength and abilities. Let us get to know them and care about them.

  • Ryan

    Agreed entirely. The Hobbit films (and to an extent the LOTR ones) took all the character and soul out of the books, and replaced it with CGI things hitting other CGI things while overblown “epic music” blasts your eardrums.

  • eberis

    I have been watching Harry Potter and Doctor Who on HDMI ., . . the visual intensity is higher . . and the coding on HDMI is fun but it’s actually too high ‘Inergy’ and the time thought in Dr. Who makes me talk to the TV a little . I also watched some “cloud time contrast” History of Roosevelt . I’m pretty sure the actual spelling is not -veldt . suffix . Harry Potter looks great on HDMI . Doctor Who : federated i.p. Tm blog cloud i.p. might be a little too ‘high’ for me . Thanks for letting me blog . PAX ~n “Nature” :o)

Leave a Reply

