New Year’s resolutions

Sometimes I do these in earnest, sometimes I don’t… but a few years ago I decided that I was going to stop taking this as an annual opportunity to beat myself up about all the things I am not. I am also not going to make an epic ‘to do’ list with which to torture myself for the coming year.

Here are my resolutions.

  • To eat more cake. Because I like cake, I am not gaining weight (quietly and persistently the opposite, which has to stop eventually) and if you use brown flour, unrefined sugar and a lot of fruit, it’s almost healthy food anyway. And it makes me happy.
  • To walk more. Because being outside wandering about with people I like is one of the things that makes me happiest, so I’m going to do more of it. Possibly with cake.
  • To have more time doing nothing. This is to include lie ins, early nights, time spent gazing absentmindedly out of the window and the such. Time when I am not economically active and of no discernible use to anyone.
  • To bring an end to greed driven, exploitative capitalism. No one said this list had to be wholly realistic.

 

Whatever you choose to do with your New Year, I hope it goes well for you. Follow your heart, go with what inspires and uplifts you and may the blessings of inspiration flow your way.

About Nimue Brown

Druid, author, dreamer, folk enthusiast, parent, wife to the most amazing artist -Tom Brown. Drinker of coffee, maker of puddings. Exploring life as a Pagan, seeking good and meaningful ways to be, struggling with mental health issues and worried about many things. View all posts by Nimue Brown

3 responses to “New Year’s resolutions

Leave a Reply

